Overview

The Traffic Management service directs your user to the closest server based on Dyn’s anycast network. Dyn’s anycast network monitors all of the addresses in the defined ‘Address Pool’. Monitored servers may be added to the Global Pool or added directly to the 7 geographically specific address pools.

The 7 geographically specific address pools are:  US West, US Central, US East, EU West, EU Central, EU East, and Asia. EU stands for Europe and US stands for the United States. These seven address pools group servers into regions for traffic balancing and failover defaults.

Traffic Management service can monitor one of five different protocol options. If a failover event occurs, the monitored address is removed from the address pool and traffic is automatically shifted to the remaining addresses in the pool, or in the case of an entire pool going into failover, to the pool’s failover configuration.

NOTE:  Enabling some Managed DNS features may effect your monthly billing. Please check the terms and conditions of your contract before enabling any new Services.

Click one of the following links for instructions on managing your zone.


Adding Traffic Management

1.  Click Overview or Manage DNS. Main menu bar
2.  Click Manage in the far right column for the zone you want to change.
3.  Click Simple Editor on the menu bar. Simple editor menu
4.  Click the Records tab. Records tab menu
5.  Scroll to the Services heading.  Services header
6.  Select Traffic Management from the Add a New Service drop-down list. Add a new service drop-down menu
7.  Configure Traffic Management. Click Configure Traffic Management to access the instructions for configuring Traffic Management for your zone.
8. Publish your changes to activate the service or Revert the form to its prior state to cancel the changes. Revert and publish service buttons

Deleting Traffic Management

1.  Click Overview or Manage DNS. Main menu bar
2.  Click Manage in the far right column for the zone you want to change.
3.  Click the Services tab.  Services tab
5. Click Manage in the right column under Traffic Management for the node where you want to remove TM. Manage button
6.  Click Delete Service to remove the service from this node in your zone. Delete service button
7.  Confirm your decision to Delete the service or Cancel the transaction.  Cancel or delete confirmation button